Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > Genesis Reef Systems
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 04/26/2018, 02:27 PM   #1
luiscarr
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 14
Help. Using Genesis with Spectrpure RO/DI

Is there a way that while using Genesis ROCV to auto fill ATO container one can also can use the same RO/DI to auto fill the RO container using the Spectrapure float valves?
I find that if one system (ROCV or RO container floats) shuts off the RO/DI then the other can't turn on.
Thanks


luiscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/28/2018, 09:47 AM   #2
GenesisReefSys
RC Sponsor
 
GenesisReefSys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 285
Hello luiscarr,

I'm not 100% sure I understand exactly what you have in mind, but if I understand correctly, what you're trying to do is place a tee between your RO membrane and the DI stages, running to the RO-only container, and then run the DI output to your ATO? From what I gathered, you're also NOT using a pressurized RO-only tank, but a collection bin with a mechanical float valve?

If so, place the ROCv™ on the output of your DI cartridge, and have it control only the production of water for your ATO container. This setup will work just fine for that.

However, what this does mean is that your RO-only container will always be completely full, and over time your RO-only water will experience TDS creep, since the initial output from the RO membrane is high in TDS. To minimize TDS creep, I would install a quarter turn valve on the tubing running to the RO-only container, and only open it when it is nearly empty, and allow the mechanical float valve to shut off flow when it is full (then, close the 1/4 turn valve again until it's nearly empty).

I hope this answers what you were asking or at least stimulates another idea.

Kevin


__________________
Please visit us at www.GenesisReefSystems.com
GenesisReefSys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04/28/2018, 10:30 AM   #3
GenesisReefSys
RC Sponsor
 
GenesisReefSys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 285
Okay - I just investigated and found that the SpectraPure MaxCap UHE 100 GPD RO/DI System has float switches and an inlet valve instead of a float valves. Now this is making sense as to why it would shut off in an either/or manner.

Unfortunately, I don't think you're going to be able to use the SpectraPure MaxCap UHE 100 GPD RO/DI System in conjunction with the ROCv™ to accomplish what you want unless you slightly modify the SpectraPure unit and move the inlet valve to the branch running directly from your RO membrane to the RO-only container. This does assume, however, that the SpectraPure MaxCap UHE 100 GPD RO/DI System has an automatic shut off valve as well - something that I can't discern from the info I've found on the unit and something that I definitely wouldn't simply assume since it has an inlet valve.

If you're able to move that inlet valve as described above, and then place the ROCv™ on the tubing to your RODI container, AND the SpectraPure MaxCap UHE 100 GPD RO/DI System is equipped with an automatic shut off valve, then I think you'll be good to go.

Let us know what you find!

Kevin


__________________
Please visit us at www.GenesisReefSystems.com
GenesisReefSys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/26/2018, 11:48 PM   #4
Kengar
Registered Member
 
Kengar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Gaithersburg, MD (D.C. Metro Area)
Posts: 1,859
I just posted this on another thread on this forum. May be helpful here, too.

Hey there. I've got Renew and Storm, but haven't set up yet since my build got majorly sidetracked. (almost done fixing the crappy mfg job Coast to Coast did and ready to move tank to its stand.....) I did, though, set up the fresh water supply system and the saltwater mixing system, and will try to describe here (after 1 a.m. ........) my setup is similar to bnumair's, but a little more robust.

I, too, have SP UHE systm (albeit 200 gpd). (ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT and highly recommend it!!!) The SP feeds into a pair of 55-gallon Brut containers that are linked together, so I will have about 100 gallons of fresh when RO system shuts off.

As noted above, the UHE system uses a pair of float switches, one low and one high, to control the system. When supply of water gets low, the low switch will cause the system to turn on; when the Brutes are filled, the high switch causes it to turn off. The UHE system is set up with a constant-on supply of water, tapped into side of fresh water supply to my utility sink. So when the system turns on, a solenoid valve opens to permit water supply to the RO system, and the booster pump kicks on; vice versa when it turns off. (If you toggle electrical power to the sytem -- mine is plugged into an outlet with a switch, so easy enough to throw switch back and forth -- it will kick on even if the system has not been drained to the low level switch yet, so it's easy to keep a large supply of fresh water with just a quick off/on of the switch when I go into the fish room.)

So now the question is what I do with the fresh water. I run a conduit along the floor from the bottom of the two brutes over to my saltwater mixing station, and I Tee off at the end of the conduit. One branch from the tee leads to pump controlled by the storm, to pump fresh water into the system, and the other branch from the tee leads to a pump I use to supply fresh water into the saltwater mixing station. So with this arrangement, I don't even need the ROCv; toggling power to the RO system will kick it on easily enough (and float switch will shut it off), or the low switch on the RO system will kick it on if for some reason I don't go into the fish room for a few days to do so.

Re the mixing station, I have two 55-gallon drums here, too! This way, one is "live" and being used to supply saltwater to the Renew system, while the other one is on standby with saltwater being brewed. The pump I mention above to fill with fresh water is between the two drums, and there is a two-way valve I use to control where the fresh water is ported. Additionally, I set up a "circuit" of valves and pumps between the bins. One pump receives water from bottom of bins and pumps it back into the top, to circulate water through bin to keep saltwater getting brewed stirred well, the other pump receives water from bottom of bins and is used to pump water up to the Renew metering bucket. Overflow from metering bucket comes back down to bin, but is ported to the "live" or "online" bin (instead of the brewing bin) via another two-way valve. By throwing four different valve levers, I will cause saltwater to circulate out of bottom and back into top of one bin, while saltwater will flow out of bottom and be delivered to pump to Renew metering bucket from the other bin (and overflow will go back to that bin); reversing the four levers will reverse the roles of the two bins.

As I write this, I realize it's probably pretty hard to follow. So I will definitely take and post some pix when I get home from in-laws! I think it's actually a pretty clever setup!


__________________
Resident Patent Attorney
Kengar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05/27/2018, 06:45 PM   #5
Kengar
Registered Member
 
Kengar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Gaithersburg, MD (D.C. Metro Area)
Posts: 1,859
Ok, further to my preceding post, here is how I have things set up. The first three sketches are as per the description above. The fourth one shows how I have arranged a float switch in each of the saltwater supply bins (purchased an extra and some cord extender) to shut off the Renew system if the "live" or "online" system runs out of saltwater.










__________________
Resident Patent Attorney
Kengar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:58 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.