Reef Central Online Community
Premium Aquatics

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Marine Fish Forums > Seahorses & Pipefish
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/03/2016, 01:37 PM   #1
vlangel
Registered Member
 
vlangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,254
Using Prime to detox ammonia

Hi folks,
My new 56 gallon tank is going through a mini cycle, (or at least I hope its only a mini cycle). I had transferred 2 prior tanks in my life and never had the ammonia go up more than 0.25 ppm. Today my tank had jumped from 0.25 on Tuesday to 1.0 ppm!

I immediately did a 21 gallon water change and I will test again when the tank has circulated. I bought Prime but thought I better ask some quesions before using it.

If I use it according to the directions can I still test the water and know where the ammonia level is? If it impairs testing then I risk not knowing how drastic my biological function of the tank has been impaired by my transfer into the new tank. Removing the sandbed has apparently reduced my biological function more than I anticipated.

The new tank only has 1 seahorse and 1 royal gramma, soft coral and some snails. The sump was totally untouched and has a large skimmer, a fuge overflowing with macro algae and a 5" sandbed. I added a bottle of biospira after the transfer and added seachem stability on Tuesday after the water change.

What do you folks recommend? If using Prime is not a good idea I can move my seahorse into the QT where I can do water changes easily and keep her safe from the toxicity in my display until it stabilizes. I sort of hate to move her again unless you all think that is the best option.


vlangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2016, 03:41 PM   #2
vlangel
Registered Member
 
vlangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,254
I may have worried prematurely, (although ammonia is serious). When I re-tested it was back down to 0.25 ppm. Eve looks and is acting fine, swimming at the front of the tank begging for food. I will feed her light tonight and test again first thing in the morning. I have probably 20 gallons of fresh made salt water to do more water changes if needed.

I will NOT add Prime at this time since I feel like its controllable. Perhaps it was not really as bad as I thought earlier. Those colors can be tricky to read.


vlangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2016, 06:45 PM   #3
BlueCat1949
Registered Member
 
BlueCat1949's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 197
Always good when you can answer your own questions


BlueCat1949 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/03/2016, 08:57 PM   #4
rayjay
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,909
I've never used Prime, but I have started many seahorse tanks from scratch WITH seahorses in them from the start and I used ClorAm-X to bind the ammonia until the biological filter catches up to the output.


__________________
Seahorses. Culture nanno, rotifers and brine shrimp.

Current Tank Info: Seahorses
rayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2016, 07:51 AM   #5
vlangel
Registered Member
 
vlangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueCat1949 View Post
Always good when you can answer your own questions
For sure, I was so relieved when the next time I tested the ammonia was significantly less.


vlangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/04/2016, 07:53 AM   #6
vlangel
Registered Member
 
vlangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayjay View Post
I've never used Prime, but I have started many seahorse tanks from scratch WITH seahorses in them from the start and I used ClorAm-X to bind the ammonia until the biological filter catches up to the output.
Thank you ray. I went ahead and used the Prime as precautionary and I believe my biological filter will catch up in the next week.


vlangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/05/2016, 09:01 AM   #7
vlangel
Registered Member
 
vlangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,254
The biofilter must be catching up because my last test was 0 or almost. I am planning on ordering a pair of seahorses from Seahorse Source in the next week.. With the time it takes them to get here and the QT time for them to recover from shipping stress, my display should easily be ready. I will feed Eve slightly heavier to increase the tank's biofilter capacity, while keeping an eye on the parameters.


vlangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.