Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > Do It Yourself
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11/12/2017, 10:18 AM   #1
JurisHP
Registered Member
 
JurisHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 96
Float switch for Protein Skimmer help

Hi--so I drilled the collection cup lid and attached the float switch (see below). It was rubbing-up against the sides of the skimmer, so I shaved it down with a dremel. Now that the switch itself is about 1/2 it's original size and is not touching anything, it STILL won't activate when the water level in the collection cup gets to the top of the cup.

Any suggestions? It's driving me crazy!


Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_7623.jpg (45.7 KB, 54 views)
JurisHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/12/2017, 01:51 PM   #2
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 12,547
If you manually lift it up does it work?

If so.. does it not float up properly because you shaved it down?

Slow down..breathe.. this is SIMPLE stuff.. Its either on or off and thats when its either floating up or not..


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2017, 08:54 AM   #3
JurisHP
Registered Member
 
JurisHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgyvr View Post
If you manually lift it up does it work?

If so.. does it not float up properly because you shaved it down?

Slow down..breathe.. this is SIMPLE stuff.. Its either on or off and thats when its either floating up or not..
I think I shaved off too much of the float so it is not as buoyant now.


JurisHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/13/2017, 01:00 PM   #4
slief
RC Sponsor

 
slief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Simi Valley, Ca
Posts: 12,341
It also looks like it's a bit too high in the cup. It looks like the activation point on that switch is right around the top of the neck which can cause it to not activate. It's hard to tell though. You might consider a Madison sub micro M3326-NO float switch. I would suggest a normally open one that closes on rise one that way, when you remove your lid and switch for cleaning, it doesn't shut the skimmer down. .
https://www.amazon.com/Madison-M3326.../dp/B0090918GW

Or get this universal float skimmer float switch kit that can be rotated so that the barrel of the float is further away from the side of the cup. You can raise it or lower it to adjust the height and rotate it to move the float closer or further from the side of the cup. It's designed to avoid that issue you are having and includes the Madison float switch.

https://aquadriverusa.com/products/u...ashdown-models


__________________
Director Customer Support Royal Exclusiv USA
For All Royal Exclusiv & Bubble King questions please refer to our Sponsor forum: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/fo...play.php?f=745

Current Tank Info: 480G display mixed reef, 90G sump, 90G refugium, 60G display refugium. Check out my build thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1783476
slief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/14/2017, 02:20 PM   #5
JurisHP
Registered Member
 
JurisHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by slief View Post
It also looks like it's a bit too high in the cup. It looks like the activation point on that switch is right around the top of the neck which can cause it to not activate. It's hard to tell though. You might consider a Madison sub micro M3326-NO float switch. I would suggest a normally open one that closes on rise one that way, when you remove your lid and switch for cleaning, it doesn't shut the skimmer down. .
https://www.amazon.com/Madison-M3326.../dp/B0090918GW

Or get this universal float skimmer float switch kit that can be rotated so that the barrel of the float is further away from the side of the cup. You can raise it or lower it to adjust the height and rotate it to move the float closer or further from the side of the cup. It's designed to avoid that issue you are having and includes the Madison float switch.

https://aquadriverusa.com/products/u...ashdown-models
That float seems like what I am looking for--thanks so much!


JurisHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/15/2017, 04:03 AM   #6
homer1475
Registered Member
 
homer1475's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 3,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by slief View Post
It also looks like it's a bit too high in the cup. It looks like the activation point on that switch is right around the top of the neck which can cause it to not activate. It's hard to tell though. You might consider a Madison sub micro M3326-NO float switch. I would suggest a normally open one that closes on rise one that way, when you remove your lid and switch for cleaning, it doesn't shut the skimmer down. .
https://www.amazon.com/Madison-M3326.../dp/B0090918GW

Or get this universal float skimmer float switch kit that can be rotated so that the barrel of the float is further away from the side of the cup. You can raise it or lower it to adjust the height and rotate it to move the float closer or further from the side of the cup. It's designed to avoid that issue you are having and includes the Madison float switch.

https://aquadriverusa.com/products/u...ashdown-models
Thanks a ton Slief!

Been looking for a solution to this but every float I have bought is too big to fit in my collection cup. Never knew they made a mini float switch.


__________________
80G SCA Build: http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2560256

Biocube Build Thread: http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2499945

Nothing in this hobby happens fast!
homer1475 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 03:04 PM   #7
clevername2000
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Kirkwood, MO
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by JurisHP View Post
I think I shaved off too much of the float so it is not as buoyant now.
This


clevername2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11/17/2017, 11:11 PM   #8
reefer1970
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Grosse Pointe, MI
Posts: 384
Did you try taking the circlip off and flipping the float upside down?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


reefer1970 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014