Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 02/13/2018, 03:34 PM   #1
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Chaetomorpha

Hi, Everyone.

So I have an Algae reactor that's about 1/2 full of Chaetomorpha and it refuses to grow. I'm having a nutrient issue right now and my nitrates are 20 and my phosphates are 0.6ppm. Anyone experience this? How do you kickstart this? I'm on a 12 hour light cycle. I'm thinking about pulling out all of the algae and starting fresh.

Let me know what you guys think.

Note, I tested phosphates with a Triton test.


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:37 PM   #2
mitch91175
Premium Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 323
How long have you had it setup? As you know nothing happens overnight.


mitch91175 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:48 PM   #3
mcgyvr
Registered Member
 
mcgyvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 16,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by malx View Post
Note, I tested phosphates with a Triton test.
oh.. good
what about Iron ?
nitrates/phosphates are just 2 of the elements needed..
iron can be a big one too..

What kind of reactor? lighting?
How long has it been running?
Any other issues with the tank?


__________________
Being blunt and having fun
mcgyvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:48 PM   #4
lapin
Registered Member
 
lapin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Austin
Posts: 569
Perhaps you don't have a problem. If there is not enough nutrients the stuff wont grow. Is there a reason why you think 20 and .6 is high?


lapin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:52 PM   #5
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch91175 View Post
How long have you had it setup? As you know nothing happens overnight.
Months, I had it on a very low light period, only 5 hours, because it was stripping too many nutrients out of the water, and now that I caught up with feeding and fish stock, I've increased the light period and it's not stripping enough.


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:53 PM   #6
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by lapin View Post
Perhaps you don't have a problem. If there is not enough nutrients the stuff wont grow. Is there a reason why you think 20 and .6 is high?
I have an all SPS tank and some of my SPS lost their coloration and stopped growing, For example, my pink Floyd is grey instead of white. I also lost one coral but I'm not upset about that.


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:55 PM   #7
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcgyvr View Post
oh.. good
what about Iron ?
nitrates/phosphates are just 2 of the elements needed..
iron can be a big one too..

What kind of reactor? lighting?
How long has it been running?
Any other issues with the tank?
My iron is high but that has been normal for the system. I'd like the algae to pull some iron out.

No other issues other than some SPS corals are darkening and have slowed growth which spiked my alk to 9. I lost one digitata but not worried about that. Growth is slowly back with some corals and the rest are hanging on fine.


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:55 PM   #8
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Thanks everyone for the fast responses!


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 03:58 PM   #9
nereefpat
Registered Member
 
nereefpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Central Nebraska
Posts: 2,722
You can run the light on the reactor for longer than 12 hours. 18hrs might be worth trying.

You can quickly drop NO3 and PO4 with a water change too, but I'm sure you knew that.


__________________
Pat

Current Tank Info: 125 in-wall , 40b sump. 6 bulb T5. ASM G2 skimmer. LPS and leathers
nereefpat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 04:25 PM   #10
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by nereefpat View Post
You can run the light on the reactor for longer than 12 hours. 18hrs might be worth trying.

You can quickly drop NO3 and PO4 with a water change too, but I'm sure you knew that.
Yep I know, and I'm preparing to do another big W/C in a few days. I just want a more permanent solution than doing a big W/C but that won't hurt.

Thanks,
Joey


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 04:56 PM   #11
top shelf
Registered Member
 
top shelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 887
Have you given any thought to using gfo for your po4? Don't know what size tank you have but if you have the room you could add a reactor if you haven't already. An easier route just to try it out could always throw a bag of chemipure elite in. So far a bag has always done the trick for me. A lot of people with sps claim as long as po4 is low nitrates can be higher with no I'll effects. Can't remember there names off hand but I recall reading one person's thread who says his nitrates are as high as 50 with no issues in an sps dominant reef.


__________________
Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is not putting it into a fruit salad.
Philosophy is wondering if that means ketchup is a smoothie.

Current tank info: 45g SCA Cube
top shelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/13/2018, 05:37 PM   #12
malx
Registered Member
 
malx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by top shelf View Post
Have you given any thought to using gfo for your po4? Don't know what size tank you have but if you have the room you could add a reactor if you haven't already. An easier route just to try it out could always throw a bag of chemipure elite in. So far a bag has always done the trick for me. A lot of people with sps claim as long as po4 is low nitrates can be higher with no I'll effects. Can't remember there names off hand but I recall reading one person's thread who says his nitrates are as high as 50 with no issues in an sps dominant reef.
I dose a lot of the ZEOvit products and Chemipure and GFO strips out alot of the coral foods and elements. This is good advice, but for my setup it's a last resort.

My tank is about 70 gallons of water volume.

Thanks,
Joey


malx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.