Reef Central Online Community
The Filter Guys

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > New to the Hobby
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 10/15/2017, 01:03 AM   #1
bocube1993
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
54 gallon corner tank

i started my new corner tank but i made a mistake and filled it all up with treated tap water people are now telling me onlne it will crash my tank and that there will always be copper and metals in my tank....



i will now use rodi unit to make water changes will that work ??


bocube1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 01:04 AM   #2
bocube1993
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
or will i have to throw away my saltwater and fill it up again


bocube1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 02:28 AM   #3
Vincero
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
The issue is probably more to do with phosphates from your tap water.

High phosphates promote bigtime algae growth, which can be a nightmare to get rid of if your phosphates remain high.

It's also not ideal for corals and the good colouration we strive for.

An RODI unit is an essential piece of gear in my opinion. I would drain it and replace the water with RODI.


Vincero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 08:06 AM   #4
SaltyMember
Premium Member
 
SaltyMember's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,366
I agree with Vincero. I would be more worried about the phosphates in treated tap water.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


SaltyMember is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 12:48 PM   #5
bocube1993
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
i seee :/ i will try to drain it


bocube1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 01:04 PM   #6
Vincero
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by bocube1993 View Post
i seee :/ i will try to drain it
Although it's a pain in the backside, it's the right thing to do.

I've had zero 'green hair algae' issues with my tank since setting it up 5 months ago. I think the RODI is largely responsible for this smooth ride. (In fact, I'm trying to boost phosphates ever so slightly because my filtration is working so well, but that's a different story...)

Another problem is that if you see lots of green hair algae, testing for the amount of phosphate in your system becomes incredibly difficult because the algae is consuming the stuff to grow!

If I were to do it all again, the only thing I would do differently is buy a phosphate test alongside the nitrate, nitrite, and ammonia ones. I think a lot of problems in this hobby seem to be caused by unwillingly introducing nutrients into the water!


Vincero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/15/2017, 07:36 PM   #7
on the spot
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 741
I wouldn't drain it. from the tap is a cumulative issue IMO. that one time won't be any more annoying than anything else that annoys in the first few months.

of course YMMV. If it helps you sleep then do over.


on the spot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/16/2017, 03:04 AM   #8
Vincero
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
If you still don't want to just drain it, test your water for phosphates and then make a call.

If you're using dry rock, there's a good chance that could release some PO4 into the water for a while too. So... the less PO4 you have to begin with, the better really.

While you could try running GFO to artificially 'strip' it from the water, you'd go through quite a lot of the stuff before seeing a difference if PO4 is on the high side to begin with. In the long run, this could become more of a pain than just draining and refilling it now.

If in doubt, do a test. Let us know how you get on. Picture's please!


Vincero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/16/2017, 06:50 PM   #9
bocube1993
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
i have one more question there is alot of foam ontop of the tank is it becouse not washing sand properly ??


bocube1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/17/2017, 02:18 AM   #10
Vincero
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 66
I haven't heard of that before. Take a picture??


Vincero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10/21/2017, 01:22 AM   #11
bocube1993
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 29
sorry i did not read ur post foam is out tooked it out with the proien skimmer tested phosphate levels at reef they are at 0 with no algea growth


bocube1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014