Reef Central Online Community
Live Aquaria

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > Sponsor Forums > SpectraPure
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07/11/2017, 11:14 AM   #1
Antman
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,351
Silica ?

Hi I have a 4 stage 75GPD brs RI/DI unit
It is about 2 years old I change out my carbon block Sedimen and DI Resin about every 6 months
My 57G mixed reef has high silica
I do Not have a flush kit on the Membrane
I would like all new filters and someting to help lower silica
Should I replace the Membrane as well at 2 years ?

What would you recomend I use Thanks


Antman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2017, 01:37 PM   #2
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,618
You have probably gone way too long before changing the DI filter. Changing the DI should have no relation to changing the pre-filters.

When a DI filter becomes exhausted, it will leach out the pollutants that it has trapped and SIlica will be the first to go.

You really need a TDS monitor to monitor the performance of the membrane and to be sure the DI is still putting out zero TDS.

You will need to do multiple 50% water changes when you get the new filters:

SF-MT-0.5-10 Sediment
CF-0.5-10 Carbon
MEM-SP-0090 Membrane
DI-SB-10HC SilicaBuster DI

and 3-point TDS Meter to monitor pre and post membrane and post DI:
MTR-TDS-TRM1-4

All can be found on our website, www.spectrapure.com

Support at SpectraPure


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2017, 01:55 PM   #3
Antman
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,351
Thanks
My silica is 2.1 in than and I run GFO
also had Molybdenum in tank ..
the DI I change about every 6 months and I used the color changing Resin
Is there a chance I only need a Membrane flush ?


Antman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07/11/2017, 02:03 PM   #4
SpectraPure
RC Sponsor
 
SpectraPure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 4,618
Flushing the membrane only involves bypassing the flow restrictor so you get a good blast of water to liberate hardness remaining on the membrane. Flushing will not rejuvenate a plugged-up or old membrane.

If you'd like, remove the flow restrictor and run the water down the drain for a couple of minutes. That's all Flushing does.

Color changing resins are never as accurate as a meter.


__________________
Innovators in water technology.
Since 1985!
SpectraPure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:09 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2017 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014