Reef Central Online Community

Home Forum Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences View New Posts View Today's Posts

Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Search Reefkeeping ...an online magazine for marine aquarists Support our sponsors and mention Reef Central

Go Back   Reef Central Online Community > General Interest Forums > The Reef Chemistry Forum
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 01/26/2018, 05:49 AM   #1
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Lanthanum chloride

Hey there i have a huge issue with high phosphates.
I have been looking into gfo..rowophos..phosgaurd..and lanthium chloride..this is an office tank which I don't have the ability to be there daily...to monitor ...
I also don't have much room in the sump to put a filter sock to run lanthium what other ways can I dose it ...
I can run phosban reactor with gfo ...or rowophos
Phosgaurd they say to remove after 4 days ...the reason I believe for the high phosphates is my lack of husbandry
I am trying to catch up...any ideas ... i would like to try the lanthium but not sure it would be wise if the filter floss will get clogged fast ..
Any thoughts would be appreciated...
Thanks


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 07:15 AM   #2
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
Can you please share what you phosphates are at currently? That can impact the effectiveness of some of these methods.


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 08:59 AM   #3
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Phosphates

My reading with a Hanna url is 58


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 09:07 AM   #4
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
Perhaps I am confused, isn't the ULR HANNA in ppb not ppm? So you would have a converted number of 0.058ppm. I think that's fine and wouldn't even try to change anything so long as it floats around there and you get the husbandry under control. But I think at this low of a number GFO will be your only way to take it lower, I have not read much on Lanthanum chloride being used under 1ppm only over it.


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 09:14 AM   #5
Cheapreef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephxsxn View Post
Perhaps I am confused, isn't the ULR HANNA in ppb not ppm? So you would have a converted number of 0.058ppm. I think that's fine and wouldn't even try to change anything so long as it floats around there and you get the husbandry under control. But I think at this low of a number GFO will be your only way to take it lower, I have not read much on Lanthanum chloride being used under 1ppm only over it.
No that's wrong. Would be 58 X 0.003066 = 0.177


Cheapreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 09:24 AM   #6
Cheapreef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom g View Post
Hey there i have a huge issue with high phosphates.
I have been looking into gfo..rowophos..phosgaurd..and lanthium chloride..this is an office tank which I don't have the ability to be there daily...to monitor ...
I also don't have much room in the sump to put a filter sock to run lanthium what other ways can I dose it ...
I can run phosban reactor with gfo ...or rowophos
Phosgaurd they say to remove after 4 days ...the reason I believe for the high phosphates is my lack of husbandry
I am trying to catch up...any ideas ... i would like to try the lanthium but not sure it would be wise if the filter floss will get clogged fast ..
Any thoughts would be appreciated...
Thanks
If your going to use Lanthanum Chloride do so very slowly over a week or so, not all at one time IMO. When I need to dose (haven't in my current tank) I dosed into a filter sock in front of my skimmer intake. It will precipitate instantly, no need to keep the filter sock in for very long.


Cheapreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 09:27 AM   #7
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Phosphates

Yes I am doing reading before I do anything
I don't have much room in sump as it's a 15 gallon
Tank... two compartments one for slimmer vertex 100
And one for return pump ...and ato


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 10:00 AM   #8
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheapreef View Post
No that's wrong. Would be 58 X 0.003066 = 0.177
Thank you, your right. I was not thinking about it not actually being P04 and needing to be converted. I have the normal Phosphate not Phosphorus one so its a step I don't typically do.


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 10:01 AM   #9
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Formula

Is that what in am suppose to do to convert it to ppm ...


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 10:10 AM   #10
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
Yes Cheapreef's formula is correct.

Here is a quote from bertoni explaining this

Quote:
PO4--- is one form of phosphate, and that's what we hobbyists usually report. Plain P is just the phosphorus part. A PO4--- ion weighs about three times what a phosphorus ion weighs, so there's a difference of three when reporting.

So its your P value = 58 * the weight of P04 3.066 divided by 1000 to get to from ppb to ppm. Or as 1 operation 58 * 0.003066 as cCheapreef stated.

P[ppb] * 0.003066 = PO4[ppm]


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 10:15 AM   #11
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Formula

Well if it's that then maybe I'll just use gfo
Which is more used


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 10:52 AM   #12
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
I think GFO has alot more popularity then LC.


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/26/2018, 04:55 PM   #13
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,906
.177 ppm seems about right to me. That's high enough that I would consider using some GFO to reduce the level, although there are other approaches. Lanthanum chloride would save some money, but it forms a precipitate that should be filtered and exported, so it's not as convenient. You could try some GFO and see how the cost adds up over time. GFO can be regenerated, as another possible cost-saving approach.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 06:39 AM   #14
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
phosphates

I must admit when I first tested and saw the number on the hanna tester I must say I did feel shocked and terrible that I had let this get so bad and that it was my fault .
yes I will try gfo , the cost for gfo is far less then phosgaurd and rowophos and any other phosphate removing stuff.
is there a chart that will help me put the right amout in for a 46 gallon tank
thanks again for the help
I will run some gfo this weekend and post some results when I get a chance too
cheers


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 07:51 AM   #15
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
phosphates

so I did just chk my hanna chker and it is not the ulr unit , it is actually the phosphate checker with measurements in ppm....
sorry for the confusion I assumed I purchased the ulr unit


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 09:14 AM   #16
Cheapreef
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom g View Post
so I did just chk my hanna chker and it is not the ulr unit , it is actually the phosphate checker with measurements in ppm....
sorry for the confusion I assumed I purchased the ulr unit
If that is the case your phosphates are actually 0.58, did you do a retest to be sure that is the actual level? If it is I would do some large water changes over the next week or so and retest at that point.

Edited: Sorry missed the 0. infront of that reading. lol



Last edited by Cheapreef; 01/27/2018 at 10:33 AM.
Cheapreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 09:57 AM   #17
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
Can you please share the model number of the colorimeter your using? The 713 has a range of 0 - 2.5ppm,. So are you using a 713 and mean your phosphates are at 0.58 ppm?


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 10:33 AM   #18
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
Hanna checker

Hi 713-phosphate


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/27/2018, 06:25 PM   #19
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,906
Okay, I agree that the phosphate level is around 0.58 ppm, if the meter and reagents are working.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2018, 04:18 PM   #20
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
phosphates

well after a few days I decided to run rowophos , as I have been running gfo and it does work but over a slower time ...well a few days with rowophos and my numbers have dropped down to 40 ppm ...hopefully I can get it down less when the rowophos is spent , will that be when my phosphates numbers stop dropping .l do u reuse rowophos or is it a replace .
cheers
tom


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2018, 05:24 PM   #21
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,906
RowaPhos can be regenerating using lye and a strong acid, but it's a fair amount of effort. Other brands might hold up better under the process. We can post details if you are interested.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2018, 05:27 PM   #22
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
phosphates

I'm not sure I would do it prob cheaper to just get the numbers down then continue with the gfo , the bag of gfo I have has no measurments on what I am suppose to use , where do I find info on how much gfo to use ..right now I have been using a cup...


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2018, 05:35 PM   #23
josephxsxn
Paladin of Technology
 
josephxsxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: DTW, Michigan
Posts: 93
You can test the effluent from the GFO to see if it's spend and not reducing phosphates compared to the tanks readings.


josephxsxn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01/28/2018, 07:03 PM   #24
bertoni
RC Mod
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
Posts: 86,906
Right, when the output of the reactor matches the tank in measured phosphate, the media likely is shot. That can take only a few hours if the phosphate level is fairly high, and 0.58 ppm definitely is fairly high.


__________________
Jonathan Bertoni
bertoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02/07/2018, 05:48 PM   #25
tom g
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: toronto
Posts: 170
lanthium

well last nite I officially started lanthium chloride , I added 10 mls of lanthium and I changed batteries on my phosphate tester , from .57 last nite to .47 today , still being dripped in ,into a sock . hopefully it drops a bit more and I will up the dosages so I don't drastically drop phosphates


tom g is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:39 AM.


TapaTalk Enabled

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2018 Axivo Inc.
Use of this web site is subject to the terms and conditions described in the user agreement.
Reef CentralTM Reef Central, LLC. Copyright 1999-2014
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.3.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.